Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

The Paula Balzer Agency
55 Eastern Parkway #5H
Brooklyn, NY 11238
http://pbliterary.com
Paula Balzer
info@pbliterary.com

TURNED TO WRITING INSTEAD

***

Baker's Mark Literary Agency

NOW AT VICTORIA SANDERS AGENCY

Bernadette Baker-Baughman
bbaker@bakersmark.com
Gretchen Stelter
gstelter@bakersmark.com

www.victoriasanders.com

***

Julie Barer The Book Group
www.thebookgroup.com/juliebarer

***

Baror International Inc
P O Box 868
Armonk NY 10504-0868
barorint@aol.com
Danny Baror

***

Loretta Barrett Books, Inc., AAR
101 Fifth Ave., NEW YORK, NY 10003.
212-242-3420.
loretta@lorettabarrettbooks.com
DECEASED

NOW: www.vertical-ink-agency.com

Contact Nick Mullendore

***

Barron's Literary Management
4615 Rockland Drive
Arlington, TX 76016
Adele Barron-Brooks
barronsliterary@sbcglobal.net
Ms Brooks says: I look forward to hearing from your mystery, horror, sci-fi and thriller subscribers. I don't charge reading fees. I'm looking for powerfully written, tightly edited work from talented unpublished and published authors.

NOT MUCH KNOWN

***

Vivian Beck
(828) 260-1879
www.vivianbeck.com
Vivian.beck@vivianbeck.com

INACTIVE

***

Sharon Belcastro Agency
330-766-4885
Sharon@belcastroagency.com

***

Lorella Belli Agency, UK
Lorella Belli
info@lorellabelliagency.com

***

Faye Bender Literary Agency
337 West 76th Street, #E1 New York, NY 10023
www.fbliterary.com
Fayebender@fbliterary.com

INACTIVE

***

Bennett & West Literary Agency
1004 San Felipe Lane
The Villages, FL 32159
(352) 751-2314
www.bennettwestlit.com
Joan West
joanpwest@comcast.net
Lois Bennett
loisbennett@embarqmail.com

INACTIVE

***

Janet Benrey Literary Agency,
P.O. Box 12721
New Bern, NC 28561
www.benreyliterary.com
Janet Benrey
janet@benreyliterary.com
Ron Benrey
ron@benreyliterary.com

INACTIVE

***

The Bent Agency
204 Park Place
Number Two
Brooklyn, NY 11238
Jenny Bent
www.thebentagency.com
queries@thebentagency.com

***

Meredith Bernstein Literary Agency, Inc
2095 Broadway, Suite 505
New York, NY 10023
212 799 1007. Fax: 212 799 1145
Meredith Bernstein
Elizabeth Cavanaugh
mgoodbern@aol.com
http://meredithbernsteinliteraryagency.com/

***

Marylin Biderman Literary Management
Toronto, Canada
Marylin Biderman
marylin@mblm.ca
www.mblm.ca

NOW WITH TRANSATLANTIC Literary Agency

***

Vicky Bijur
333 West End Avenue, Apt B5
New York, NY 10023
vicky@vickybijuragency.com

***

David Black Literary Agency
156 Fifth Avenue, Suite 608
New York NY 10010,

www.davidblackagency.com

David Black
dblack@dblackagency.com
Leigh Ann Eliseo
laeliseo@dblackagency.com

***

BLISS Literary Agency International, Inc.
1601 N. Sepulveda Boulevard, #389
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Jenoyne Adams
Naomi Carrington
query@blissliterary.com

INACTIVE

***

Bond Literary Agency
4340 E Kentucky Ave, Ste 471,
Denver, CO 80246
Sandra Bond
sbbond@aol.com

www.bondliteraryagency.com

***

Book Cents Lit
2011 Quarrier Street,
Charleston, WV 25311
Phone: (304) 347-2330 ext.1105
www.bookcentsliteraryagency.com
Christine Witthohn
cw@bookcentsliteraryagency.com
cwitthohn@hotmail.com

***

BookEnds, LLC
136 Long Hill Rd
Gillette, NJ 07933
www.bookendsliterary.com

Jessica Faust

Kim Lionetti

***

Bookstop Literary Agency
67 Meadow View Rd.
Orinda, California 94563
www.bookstopliterary.com
info@bookstopliterary.com
Minju Chang (Ms) likes mysteries

Now mainly children and YA

***

The Barbara Bova Literary Agency
PO Box 770365 Naples, FL 34103
(941) 649-7237 Fax: (941) 649-0757
Michael Burke
michaelburke@barbarabovaliteraryagency.com
Barbara Bova, Deceased
barbarabova@barbarabovaliteraryagency.com
www.barbarabovaliteraryagency.com

***

Bleecker Street Associates, Inc.,
532 LaGuardia Place,
New York NY 10012.
212-677-4492
Agnes Birnbaum AAR
bleeckerst@hotmail.com

***

Georges Borchardt, Inc.,
136 East 57th Street
New York, NY 10022,
www.gbagency.com
FirstName@gbagency.com

***

Bradford Literary Agency
5694 Mission Center Rd. #347
San Diego, CA 92108
www.bradfordlit.com
Laura Bradford
laura@bradfordlit.com
queries@bradfordlit.com

***

Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents, Inc.,
1501 Broadway,
New York NY 10036.
212-840-5760

www.brandthochman.com
Marianne Merola AAR
Gail Hochman
ghochman@bromasite.com
William Contardi
wcontardi@yahoo.com
bill@billcontardi.com

***

The Joan Brandt Agency
788 Wesley Drive
Atlanta, GA 30305
(404) 351-8877
Contact: Joan Brandt

***

Barbara Braun Associates, Inc.
151 West 19th St., 4th Flr.
New York, NY 10011
(212) 604-9023
Barbara Braun
bba230@earthlink.net
www.barbarabraunagency.com
barbara@barbarabraunagency.com bbasubmissions@gmail.com

***

Paul Bresnick Agency,
115 W. 29th St., Third Floor,
New York, NY 10001
paul@bresnickagency.com

***

Brick House Literary Agents

Re-Branded as Union Literary

www.unionliterary.com

80 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1101
New York, NY 10011
www.brickhouselit.com

Trena Keating
Jenni Ferrari-Adler
Sally Wofford-Girand
Christina Clifford

***

Andrea Brown Literary Agency,
1076 Eagle Drive
Salinas, CA 93905
www.andreabrownlit.com

Laura Rennert reps thrillers
laura@anderabrownlit.com
ljrennert@mac.com
Caryn Wiseman likes page-turning thrillers
caryn@andreabrownlit.com

***

Browne & Miller Literary Associates
410 S. Michigan Ave., #460
Chicago, IL 60605
www.browneandmiller.com
Danielle Egan-Miller
Mail@browneandmiller.com

***

Curtis Brown, Ltd. AAR
Ten Astor Place
New York, New York 10003,
(212) 473-5400, x500
Maureen Walters
mawalters@cbltd.com
Laura Blake Peterson
lbp@cbltd.com
Katherine Fausset
kf@cbltd.com
Holly Frederick
hf@cbltd.com
Peter Ginsberg
pg@cbltd.com
Mitchell Waters
msw@cbltd.com
Perry Knowlton
pk@cbltd.com
Ginger Clark
gc@cbltd.com
Ellen Geiger
eg@cbltd.com
Sarah LaPolla
sl@cbltd.com

***

Curtis Brown Group, Ltd.
Haymarket House
28/29 Haymarket
London SW1Y 4SP
www.curtisbrown.co.uk
Jonny Geller
jonny@curtisbrown.co.uk
Jonathan Lloyd
jlloyd@curtisbrown.co.uk

***

Jenny Brown Associates
33 Argyle Place, Edinburgh, EH9 1JT

www.jennybrownassociates.com

***

Marie Brown Associates
412 West 154th Street
New York, NY 10032
Marie Brown mbrownlit@aol.com

***

The Bukowski Agency
14 Prince Arthur Avenue, Suite 202,
Toronto, ON M5R 1A9, Canada
(416) 928-6728 Fax: (416) 963-9978
www.bukowskiagency.com

***

Brie Burkeman
brie.burkeman@mail.com

CLOSED

***

Sheree Bykofsky Associates,
11 E. 47th Street
New York, NY 10017
212-308-1253

http://shereebee.com/
shereebee@aol.com submitbee@aol.com

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change