Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

***

Kimberley Cameron and Associates
www.kimberleycameron.com
info@kimberleycameron.com
98 Main St., PMB 704,
Tiburon CA 94920.
415-789-9191.

***

The Sara Camilli Agency,
Sara Camilli
sabcamilli@hotmail.com
Stephen Camilli
camilliagency@gmail.com

***

Georgina Capel, UK,

www.georginacapel.com/
Georgina Capel
georgina@georginacapel.com
Philippa Brewster
philippabrewster@gmail.com

***

Maria Carvainis Agency Inc.
1350 Avenue of the Americas Suite 2905
New York, NY 10019
(212) 245-6365 Fax: (212) 245-7196 ,
Maria Carvainis
mca@mariacarvainisagency.com
Anna Del Veccio
adv@mariacarvainisagency.com
Chelsea Gilmore, Suspense
cgilmore@mariacarvainisagency.com
CV@mariacarvainisagency.com

***

Casarotto Ramsay and Associates Ltd,
UK,

www.casarotto.co.uk
Chris Cope
chris@casarotto.co.uk

***

Castiglia Literary Agency
1155 Camino Del Mar Suite 510
Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 755-8761 Fax: (858) 755-7063
Julia Castiglia
JACLAgency@aol.com
Winifred Golden
win@castigliaagency.com

INACTIVE

***

Mic Cheetham Literary Agency
11-12 Dover Street
London W1S 4LJ, England
mic@miccheetham.com
simon@miccheetham.com
oliver@miccheetham.com

***

Elyse Cheney and Associates
270 Lafayette Street, Suite 1504,
New York, NY 10012
156 Fifth Ave., Ste. 1134
New York, NY 10010
(212) 277-8007

www.cheneyassoc.com
Elyse
elyse@cheneyliterary.com
Nicole Steen
nicole@cheneyliterary.com
Stephanie Hanson
stephanie@cheneyliterary.com
www.cheneyliterary.com

***

Linda Chester Literary Agency
630 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2662
New York, NY 10111
www.lindachester.com
submissions@lindachester.com
Julie Rubenstein,
Meredith Phelan,
Joanna Pulcini
lcassoc@mindspring.com
(replied quickly and with a personalized letter)
Alexandra Machinist
alexandra@lindachester.com
(replied promptly)
“Please send a query that includes a comprehensive synopsis of the project, as well as a bio listing your writing and life credentials, to submissions@lindachester.com.”

***

Judith Chilcote Agency
8 Wentworth Mansions
Keats Grove
London NW3 2RL
Judith Chilcote
judybks@aol.com

***

The Choate Agency,
1320 Bolton Road,
Pelham, NY 10803,

www.thechoateagency.com
Michael Choate
choateagency@optonline.com

***

Cine/Lit Representation
PO Box 802918
Santa Clarita CA 91380-2918

www.cinelitrepresentation.com
Anna Cottle or Mary Alice Kier
cinelit@aol.com
cinelit@msn.com

***

William Clark
New York,
wcquery@wmclark.com
query@wmclark.com
wmclark@wmclark.com
www.wmclark.com
Prefers queries via web form fill

***

Jonathan Clowes Ltd
Iron Bridge House, Bridge Approach
London NW1 8BD

www.jonathanclowes.co.uk

***
Tristram C. Coburn Literary Management
tccoburn@adelphia.net

***

Nancy Coffey Literary & Media Representation,
240 West 35th Street, Suite 500,
New York, NY 10001
Nancy Coffey
literarynancy@gmail.com

Joanna Volpe now with: www.newleafliterary.com

literarynancy2@gmail.com

***

Frances Collin Literary Agency
P.O. Box 33 Wayne, PA 19087
(702) 733-1017 Fax: (702) 733-1215
www.francescollin.com
Frances Collin, AAR.
fran@francescollin.com
queries@francescollin.com
dwauhob@aol.com

***

Collins Literary Agency
AYESHA PANDE took over and started own agency:

www.pandeliterary.com

***

Don Congdon Associates,
156 Fifth Avenue, Suite 625
New York, NY 10010
Michael Congdon
dca@doncongdon.com
Cristina Concepcion
cconcepcion@doncongdon.com
Katie Kotchman
kkotchman@doncongdon.com

***

The Connell Agency
Old Chelsea Station, PO Box 1106
New York, NY 10113
Stella Connell
stella@theconnellagency.com

NO LONGER AGENTING

***

Connor Literary Agency
2911 West 71st Street
Minneapolis, MN 55423
(612) 866-1426 Fax: (612) 869-4074

https://connorliteraryagency.webs.com/moreaboutus.htm
Contact: Marlene Connor Lynch
coolmkc@aol.com

EDITORIAL SERVICES

***

William (Bill) Contardi,
Brandt & Hochman Literary Agency
1501 Broadway New York, NY 10036
bill@billcontardi.com

brandthochman.com

***

Conville & Walsh, Ltd
2 Ganton Street
London, W1F 7QL
Clare Conville
clare@convilleandwalsh.com

***

The Cooke Agency
278 Bloor St. East, Suite 305
Toronto, ON
M4W 3M4
416-406-3390 Fax: 416-406-3389
www.cookeagency.ca
livcooke@idirect.ca
Sally Harding
sharding@cookeagency.ca
Elizabeth Griffin
egriffin@cookeagency.ca
Suzanne Brandreth, Literary Thrillers
SBrandreth@cookeagency.ca

***

Coombes Moylett Literary Agency
3 Askew Road
London, W12 9AA

https://cmm.agency/
Lisa Moylett
lisa.moylett@btopenworld.com

***

Cornerstone Literary, Inc.
4500 Wilshire Blvd. , Suite 208
Los Angeles, CA 90010
www.cornerstoneliterary.com
Helen Breitwieser, AAR.
hb@cornerstoneliterary.com

***

Cowles-Ryan Literary Agency
PO Box 1134, 3 West Main Street
Stockbridge, MA 01262

www.cowlesagency.com
Nina Ryan
ninaryan@aol.com

***

Crawford Literary Agency
94 Evans Road
Barnstead, NH 03218
Tel: (603) 269-5851 Fax: (603) 269-2533
CrawfordLit@att.net
Susan Crawford

INACTIVE?

***

The Creative Culture -- ABSORBED by DeFiore
72 Spring Street, Ste 304, NEW YORK, NY 10012
Matthew Elblonk
melblonk@thecreativeculture.com
www.creativeculture.com

***

Creative Trust Inc. Literary Agency
5141 Virginia Way, Suite 320,
Brentwood, TN 37027 USA
Katie Sulkowski, Literary Brand Manager
katie.sulkowski@creativetrust.com
Trillers, Suspense

NOT MUCH INFO

***

Ceative Authors
11A Woodlawn Street,
Whitstable, Kent, CT51HQ
Isabel Atherton
write@creativeauthors.co.uk
www.creativeauthors.co.uk

***

Crichton & Associates, Inc
6940 Carroll Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912
(301) 495-9663

www.publishersmarketplace.com/members/ssnlc/
Sha-Shana Crichton
cricht1@aol.com
www.crichton-associates.com

***

Richard Curtis Associates Inc.
171 East 74th Street, Suite 2
New York, NY 10021
(212) 772-7363 Fax: (212) 772-7393
jhacrworth@curtisagency.com
shackwkorth@curtisagency.com
Contact: Pam Valvera
Richard Curtis
rcurtis@curtisagency.com

***

Creative Book Services
66 Grand Street, Suite One
New York, NY 10013

NOW: www.bobmecoy.com/
Bob Mecoy
mecoy@aol.com
bob.mecoy@gmail.com
www.creative-book-services.net

***

Creative Media Agency
240 West 35th Street, Suite 500
New York, NY 10001

NOW: cmalit.com
WAS: www.creativemediaagencyinc.com
Contact Paige Wheeler
cmagency@yahoo.com
paige@thecmagency.com

***

The Christina Pechstein Agency
www.agentcricket.com.
Cricket Pechstein
(cricket@agentcricket.com)
RENAMED agency to August Agency
www.augustagency.com
Resides in Florida, while

Jeffery is in New York.
jeffery@augustagency.com

***

The Croce Agency
PO Box 449
Leonia , NJ 07605

NOW: www.stimolaliterarystudio.com
Nicholas Croce
ncroce@thecroceagency.com
www.thecroceagency.com

***

James R. Cypher,
616 Wolcott Avenue,
Beacon, NY 12508
914-831-5677
jimcypher@aol.com
jimcypher@prodigy.net

NOT MUCH ACTIVITY

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change