Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

Laura Dail Literary Agency, Inc.
350 7th Ave., Ste. 2003
New York, NY 10001
www.ldlainc.com
Laura Dail
ldail@ldlainc.com
Tamar Ellman Rydzinski
tellman@ldlainc.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Daniel Literary Group
1701 Kingsbury Drive, Suite 100,
Nashville , TN 37215
Greg Daniel
greg@danielliterarygroup.com
submissions@danielliterarygroup.com
www.danielliterarygroup.com

***

Danielle Egan-Miller,
Chicago,
mpd@mpdinc.net

***

Darhansoff, Verrill
236 West 26th Street, Suite 802
New York, NY 10001
212-334-5980
Liz Darhansoff
liz@dvagency.com
Charles Verrill
chuck@dvagency.com
www.dvagency.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Merric Davidson Literary Agency,
UK,
md@mdla.co.uk

***

Liza Dawson Associates,
350 7th Avenue, Suite 2003
New York, NY 10001
Liza Dawson
LDawson@lizadawsonassociates.com
No reply and SASE not returned
Caitlin Blasdell
querycaitlin@LizaDawsonAssociates.com
Havis Dawson
queryhavis@LizaDawsonAssociates.com

***

Jennifer DeChiara,
245 Park Avenue South, Suite 2-L
New York, NY 10010
www.jdlit.com
jenndec@aol.com

***

DeFiore and Company
853 Broadway, Suite 1715
New York, NY 10003
(212) 505-7979
info@defioreandco.com
www.defioreandco.com
Brian DeFiore
bdf@defioreandco.com
Kate Garrick
kate@defioreandco.com
Caryn Karmatz Rudy
ckr@defioreandco.com
DEFIORE ABSORBED THE CREATIVE CULTURE, as of March 2010:
Matthew Elblonk, Karen Gerwin, and Debra Goldstein

BEWARE of DeFiore: asked for the manuscript never to be heard from again. He won't reply to follow-ups either

***

Joelle Delbourgo Associates, Inc.
101 Park Street, 3rd floor
Montclair, NJ 07042
(973) 783 6800
1ww.delbourgo.com
Joelle Delbourgo
Joelle@delbourgo.com
Molly Lyons
Molly@delbourgo.com
Jacquie Flynn
Jacquie@delbourgo.com

***

DH Literary, Inc.,
P.O. Box 990,
Nyack NY 10960-0990.
212-753-7942.
dhendin@aol.com
David Hendin AAR

***

DHS Literary, Inc.,
10711 Preston Rd., Suite 100
Dallas, TX 75230214-363-4422.
David Hale Smith
dhs@dhsliterary.com
Seth Robertson
submissions@dhsliterary.com

***

The Dickens Group Literary Agency,
Div of Touchwood Prod.
3024 Madelle Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
502-897-6740 Fax: 502-894-9814
sami@thedickens.win.net (bounced)
charges $$$

***

D4EO Literary Agency
7 Indian Valley Road,
Weston, CT 06883
www.d4eo.com
Robert G. Diforio
d4eo@optonline.com
Joyce Holland, Thrillers
joyce@d4eo.com
Weronika Janczuk, Thrillers
weronika@d4eo.com

***

Diggs McQuillar
112 West 117th Street
New York, NY 10026
Anita Diggs
anitadiggs@aol.com

***

Sandra Dijkstra Agency
1155 Camino Del Mar, Ste. 515
Del Mar, CA 92014
sdla@dijkstraagency.com
sandy@dijkstraagency.com
Elise Capron
elise@dijkstraagency.com
Joel Pulliam
joel@dijkstraagency.com
Stacy Carlock
Stacy@dijkstraagency.com
Jill Marr
jill@dijkstraagency.com

***

Donadio & Ashworth, Inc.
121 West 27th St. Suite 704
New York, NY 10001
Donash1@aol.com
Neil Olson
neil@donadio.com
Edward Hibbert
edward@donadio.com
Ira Silverberg
ira@donadio.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Janis Donnaud
525 Broadway Suite 201
New York, NY10012
jdonnaud@aol.com
donnaudassociate@aol.com

***

Jim Donovan Literary,
4515 Prentice St., Suite 109,
Dallas TX 75206.
jdlqueries@sbcglobal.net
jdonovan@flash.net

***

Dorian Literary Agency
Upper Thornehill, 27 Church Road, St Marychurch
Torquay, Devon TQ1 4QY
Dorothy Lumley
doriandot@compuserve.com,

***

Dreisbach Literary Management
PO Box 5379
El Dorado Hills , CA 95762
Verna Dreisbach
www.dreisbachliterary.com
verna@dreisbachliterary.com

***

Bryan Drew, Ltd.
Quadrant House
80-82 Regent Street
London W1B 5AU
Bryan Drew
bryan@bryandrewltd.com

***

Dreyer & Helland Literary Agency
536 1/2 1st. E.
Dickinson, North Dakota 58601
Brian Helland
booksterbooks@yahoo.com

***

Robert Ducas
The Barn House
244 Westside Road
Norfolk, CT 06058
(860) 542-5733 Fax: (860) 542-5469
robertducas@aol.com

***

Dunow, Carlson & Lerner Literary Agency
27 West 20th St., Suite 1107
New York, NY 10011
www.dclagency.com
Henry Dunow, AAR.
henry@dclagency.com
Jennifer Carlson
jennifer@dclagency.com

***

Dupree/Miller and Associates Inc.
Literary 100 Highland Park Village, Suite 350,
Dallas, TX 75205
(214) 559-BOOK Fax: (214) 559-PAGE
dmabook@aol.com
contact: Jan Miller
No reply and SASE not returned
Charges Handling FEE

***

Durant's Literary Agency
Tiffany Durant
Queries to:
Dlaqueries@gmail.com
Submissions are being accepted for all genres. The submission should include a cover letter and query letter within the text of an email as we do not open attachments for security reasons.
Our website is under construction and we are using this site for now:
http://durantliteraryagency.webs.com

***

Jane Dystel Literary Management,
One Union Square West, Suite 904,
New York, NY 10003.
212-627-9100
www.dystel.com
Jane Dystel
jane@dystel.com
Todd Keithley AAR
jfagan@dystel.com
Miriam Goderich
Miriam@dystel.com
Michael Bourret
mbourret@dystel.com
Jim McCarthy
jmccarthy@dystel.com
John Rudoph
jrudolph@dystel.com

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change