Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

Karen Gantz Zahler, Literary Agency,
860 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10021
www.karengantzlit.com
karen@karengantzlit.com
kgzahler@aol.com

***

Max Gartenberg,
521 Fifth Avenue Suite 1700
New York, NY 10175
(212) 292-4354 Fax: (973) 535-5033
gartenbook@att.net
gartenbook@hotmail.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Garztecka Iza
Iza Garztecka, proprietor / agent with
Helfa Literary Agency / Agencja Literacka Helfa

AVOID THIS AGENT – SCAM ARTIST

***

Margaret Gee Literary
PO Box 221
Australia
Phone: 61 2 9365 3266
Fax: 61 2 9365 3168
www.margaretgee.com
Margaret Gee
margaret@margaretgee.com

***

Gelfman Schneider AAR
250 West 57th St. Suite 2515
New York, NY 10017
Jane Gelfman
jane@gelfmanschneider.com
Deborah Schneider
deborah@gelfmanschneider.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

The Gernert Company
136 East 57th Street
New York, NY 10022
represents Grisham
Stephanie Cabot
scabot@thegernertco.com
Betsy Lerner
blerner@thegernertco.com
Matt Williams
matteo@thegernertco.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

The Gersh Agency
41 Madison Avenue, 33rd Floor
New York, NY 10010
www.gershagency.com
Phyllis Wender
pwender@gershny.com
Sonia Pabley
spabley@gershny.com

***

The Gislason Agency
219 Main Street Southeast Suite 506
Minneapolis, MN 55414
(612) 331-8033 Fax: (612) 332-8115
www.thegislasonagency.com
gislasonbj@aol.com
Contact: Barbara J. Gislason .

***

Carol Givner
goldduets@aol.com
www.carolgivner.com

***

Global Literary Management
37 West 20th Street, Suite 805
New York, NY 10011
www.globallit.com
Sandra Zane
sandra@globallit.com

***

Goldfarb & Associates
721 Gibbon Street
Alexandria, VA 22314 USA
Phone 202-466-3030
rlslawlit@gmail.com
www.ronaldgoldfarb.com
Robbie Anna Hare
RAHare@aol.com
Ronald Goldfarb
rglawlit@aol.com

***

Frances Goldin Literary Agency,
57 E. 11th St., Suite 5B
New York, NY 10003
212-777-0047 Fax: 212-228-1660
goldinlit@aol.com
Matt McGowan
mm@goldinlit.com
Sam Stoloff
ss@goldinlit.com

***

The Susan Golomb Literary Agency
875 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10001,

NOW WITH WRITERS HOUSE

www.writershouse.com

***

Goodman-Andrew Agency,
11225 Goodwin Way NE
Seattle, WA 98125
206-367-4052 Fax: 310-367-3785
bj945@scn.org (Wrong email address)

***

Irene Goodman Literary Agency
27 West 24th St. Suite 700B
New York, NY 10010
www.irenegoodman.com
Barbara Poelle, likes thrillers and lit suspense
barbara@irenegoodman.com
Miriam Kriss, commercial
Miriam@irenegoodman.com
Irene Goodman, Mysteries
Irene@ irenegoodman.com
Jon Sternfeld
jon@irenegoodman.com
queries@irenegoodman.com

***

Doug Grad
718.788.6067
156 Prospect Park West,
Brooklyn, NY 11215
Doug Grad, Thrillers
doug.grad@dgliterary.com
George Bick, Thrillers, Romance
George.bick@dgliterary.com

***

Graham Literary Agency (About Words Agency)
P.O. Box 1051 Alpharetta, GA 30009
http://agency.aboutwords.org/email.html
Susan Graham
susan@aboutwords.org
susanlgraham@gmail.com
query@aboutwords.org
We have closed our regular mail address, and are now only accepting
email queries. Our in-house reader will respond to most of the email
query submissions we receive with a one-page personalized evaluation,
no-obligation and free of charge as always. Your evaluation will point
out general areas in need of editing or expanding, using a query reply
form created by Susan Graham, owner and founder of About Words Agency.

***

Graybill & English
1875 Connecticut Ave NW, Suite 1715
Washington, DC 20009-5728
www.graybillandenglish.com
Lynn Whittaker, AAR.
lynnwhittaker@aol.com

***

Ashley Grayson Literary Agency,
1342 18th St.
San Pedro, CA 90732
310-548-4672 Fax: 310-514-1148
graysonagent@earthlink.net
Carolyn Grayson
carolyngraysonagent@earthlink.net
carolynadg@mac.com
SASE not returned

***

Greene & Heaton Ltd
37 Goldhawk Road
London W12 8QQ
England
Nick Harrop
nharrop@greeneheaton.co.uk

***

Gregory & Company Authors' Agents
3 Barb Mews
London W6 7PA, UK
www.gregoryandcompany.co.uk
Mary Jones, Submissions Editor
maryjones@gregoryandcompany.co.uk
Jane Gregory
jane@gregoryandcompany.co.uk

***

Jill Grinberg Literary Management
244 Fifth Avenue, Floor 11
New York, NY 10011
Jill Grinberg
jill@grinbergliterary.com
jillgrin@aol.com

***

Maxine Groffsky
853 Broadway, Suite 708
New York, NY 10003
212-979-1500 Fax: 212-979-1405
mgroffsky@aol.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Jill Grosjean Literary Agency
1390 Millstone Road
Sag Harbor, NY 11963
(631) 725-7419 Fax: (631) 725-8632
jill6981@aol.com
Contact: Jill Grosjean

***

Laura Gross Literary Agency
75 Clinton Place
Newton, MA 02459
Laura Gross
lgross@lauragrossliteraryagency.com

***

The Sebastian Gibson Agency .
PO Box 13350,
Palm Desert CA 92255-3350.
760 322 2446. Fax 760 322 3857

***

Carrol Grace Literary Agency,
P.O. Box 10938,
St. Petersburg FL 33733.
727-865-2099
Pat Jozwiakowski,
Sunny Mays, acquisitions dir.

***

Great Titles Inc.
18 Greenfield Dr.
Etobicoke, ON M9B 1G9
(416) 231 6686 Fax: (416) 231 7913
CHARGES $$

***

Kathryn Green Literary Agency
250 West 57th Street, Suite 2302
New York, NY 10107
(212) 245-4225 (212) 245-4042
Kathy Green
kathy@kgreenagency.com

***

Sanford J. Greenburger Associates, Inc.,
55 Fifth Ave.,
New York, NY 10003.
212-206-5600.
www.greenburger.com
Heide Lange, AAR
Esther Sung
esung@sjga.com
Matthew Bialer
mbialer@sjga.com
Nicholas Ellison
nellison@sjga.com
Daniel Mandel
dmandel@sjga.com
Courtney Miller-Callihan
cmiller@sjga.com
Lisa Gallagher
lgallagher@sjga.com

***

Arthur B. Greene,
101 Park Ave., 26th Floor,
NEW YORK, NY 10178.
212-661-8200.

***

Greene & Heaton Ltd,
UK,
Antony Topping
atopping@greeneheaton.co.uk

***

Randall Elisha Greene,
620 S. Broadway, suite 210,
Lexington KY 40508-3150.
606-225-1388.

***

Alice Griggs, UK
alicegriggs@gmail.com

***

The Grosvenor Literary Agency (MERGED with KNEERIM)
OLD CONTACT: 5510 Grosvenor Lane
Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 564-6231 Fax: (301) 581-9401
deb@gliterary.com
dcgrosveno@aol.com
www.gliterary.com
Deborah Clarke Grosvenor
No reply and SASE not returned

***

The Charlotte Gusay Literary Agency
10532 Blythe
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(310) 559-0831
gusay1@aol.com
gusay1@comcast.net
gusay1@ca.rr.com
www.gusay.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change