Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

Jacqueline Hackett
639 Thornton Rd., Suite 102
Lithia Springs, GA 30122
www.literary-works.com
JQuery@literary-works.com

***

Van Haitsma Literary
204 N. El Camino Real, Suite E-431
Encinitas, CA 92024
www.vanHaitsmaLiterary.com
Sally van Haitsma
Sally@vanHaitsmaLiterary.com

***

Halston Freeman Literary Agency
140 Broadway, 46th Floor
New York, NY 10005
Molly Freeman or Betty Halston
Queryhalstonfreemanliterary@hotmail.com
Email Bounces

***

Hamilton House Literary Agency
PO Box 382 Alliance, NE 69301
308-762-3602
hhla@webquarry.com
hhlagroup@sscq.net
No reply and SASE not returned

***

The Harding Agency,
P O Box 76003,
Vancouver, BC, V6E 4T2, Canada,
604-331-9330
Sally Harding
reception(AT)thehardingagency.com
sharding(AT)thehardingagency.com
www.thehardingagency.com
MERGER: Sally Harding merged with the Cooke Agency in 2007

***

Harris, Harris & Donahue, Literary Agents,
1421 E Street - Suite 3
Lincoln, NE 68508
www.harris-donahue.com
Alan Harris afh@harris-donahue.com
query@harris-donahue.com
Suzan Donahue
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Hartline Literary Agency
123 Queenston Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15235
(412) 829-2495 Fax: (412) 829-2450
jahart@hartlinemarketing.com
www.hartlinemarketing.com
Joyce A. Hart
joyce@hartlineliterary.com
Terry Burns
terry@hartlineliterary.com
Janet Benrey
janet@hartlineliterary.com
Tamela Hancock Murray
Christian, romance
tamela@hartlineliterary.com
Diana Flegal
diana@hartlineliterary.com

***

Hornfischer Literary Management LLC
P.O. Box 50067
Austin, TX 78763
jim@hornfischerlit.com
jim@hornfischerliterarymanagement.com (ouch!)
www.hornfischerliterarymanagement.com
Contact: Jim Hornfischer
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Harris Literary Agency
PO Box 6023
San Diego CA 92166
Hlit@adnc.com
Norman Rudenberg
n@adnc.com

***

The Joy Harris Literary Agency, Inc.,
Sharing office space with Stuart Krichevsky Agency
381 Park Avenue South, Suite 428
New York, NY 10016.
212-924-9269.
jhlitagent@aol.com
Joy Harris AAR
gen.office@jhlitagent.com
JoyHarris@jhlitagent.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

John Hawkins & Associates, Inc.,
71 W. 23rd St., Suite 1600,
NEW YORK, NY 10010.
212-807-7040.
jhawkasc@aol.com
John Hawkins,
William Reiss AAR
reiss@jhalit.com
reiss@jhaliterary.com
Anne Hawkins
ahawkins@jhalit.com
ahawkins@jhaliterary.com
Moses Cardona
moses@jhalit.com
moses@jhaliterary.com
Annie Hawkins
anniehawk@aol.com

***

Heacock Literary Agency, Inc.
1523 6th Street, Suite 14,
Santa Monica, CA 90401,
310-393-6277
Rosalie Grace Heacock
GraceBooks@aol.com
retired but
Catt LeBaigue took over and accepts queries
catt@heacockliteraryagency.com
www.heacockliteraryagency.com

***

A.M. Heath & Co. Ltd,
UK,
William Hamilton
bill@amheath.demon.co.uk

***

Helen Heller Literary Agency
32 Bayhampton Court,
Toronto, ON M3H 5L6
www.helenhelleragency.com
Daphne Hart
Sarah Heller
Helen Heller
helen@helenhelleragency.com
helleragency@rogers.com

***

Richard Henshaw Group,
132 W. 22nd St., 4th Floor,
NEW YORK, NY 10011.
212-414-1172.
rich@henshaw.com
rhgagents@aol.com
www.rich.henshaw.com
Rich Henshaw AAR

***

Susan Herner Rights Agency,
P.O. Box 303,
Scarsdale NY 10583-0303.
914-725-8967.
Susan Herner
sherneragency@optonline.net
twosues@worldnet.att.net
INACTIVE - RETIRED

***

David Higham Associates Ltd,
UK,
Bruce Hunter
brucehunter@davidhigham.co.uk

***

Frederick Hill & Bonnie Nadell Literary Agency
1842 Union Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
fredhillsf@cs.com
frederick_hill@sbcglobal.net

FRED HILL passed away in 2011

***

Barbara Hogenson Agency
165 West End Ave., Suite 19-C
New York, NY 10023
Barbara Hogenson
Bhogenson@aol.com
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Vanessa Holt,
UK,
vanessa@holtlimited.freeserve.co.uk

***

HSW Literary Agency
3199 Lakeshore Blvd. W.
Toronto, ON
M8V 1K8
Tel: 416 675 6622 Ext 3442
Fax: 416 251 7167
Margaret Hart
margaret.hart@humber.ca

***

Andrea Hurst & Associates Literary Management
PO Box 19010,
Sacramento, CA 95819
www.andreahurst.com
andrea@andreahurst.com
Amberly Finarelli
amberly@andreahurst.com

***

Hy Cohen Literary Agency Ltd
PO Box 43770,
Up. Montclair NJ 07043.
973 783 9494. Fax: 973 783 9867.
cogency@home.com

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change