Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

Imrie & Dervis Literary Agency
7 Carlton Mansions, Holmleigh Road
London N16 5PX, England
www.imriedervis.com
Malcolm Imrie
Malcolm@imriedervis.com

***

Intellectual Property Group
9200 Sunset Boulevard, Suite 820
Los Angeles, CA 90069-3605
Joel Gotler
joel@ipglm.com

***

International Creative Management ( ICM )
www.icmtalent.com
40 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
Andrea Barzvi
abarzvi@icmtalent.com
Katharine Cluverius
kcluverius@icmtalent.com
Esther Newberg
anewberg@icmtalent.com
Jennifer Joel
jjoel@icmtalent.com
Kate Lee
klee@icmtalent.com
Tina Wexler
TWexler@icmtalent.com

***

IMG Literary,
825 Seventh Avenue, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10019
http://img/literary.com
Elizabeth Altschuler
ealtschuler@imgworld.com
Lisa Queen
lqueen@imgworld.com
Lisa Hyman
lhyman@imgworld.com
Or in the UK:
Sarah Wooldridge
swooldridge@imgworld.com

***

Imprint Agency, Inc.
5 West 101st Street, Suite 8-B
New York, NY 10025
Meredith Phelan
mphelan@mindspring.com
www.imprintagency.com
This agency turned into FinePrint Agency.

***

Independant Agent
694 Tobermory Court
Wentzville, Missouri 63385
mcgrail2123@msn.com
denisepunches@hotmail.com
Denise McGrail
(emails bounced)

***

inGroup Press
LGBT Mysteries and more
Miami, FL
Anthony DiFiore
anthony@ingrouppress.com
www.ingrouppress.com

***

Inkwell Management
521 Fifth Avenue, 26th Floor
New York, NY 10175
submissions@inkwellmanagement.com
Michael Carlisle
michael@inkwellmanagement.com
Kim Witherspoon
kim@inkwellmanagement.com

***

Intellectual Prop. Mgmt. Group
PO Box 503 Kensington, MD 20895
www.ipmg.net
PULLING OUT OF BUSINESS
Associated agencies:
Christina Arneson & Associates
New York, New York
AccessMediaPromo@aol.com
Christina at caawhb@aol.com

***

JABberwocky Literary Agency
PO Box 4558
Sunnyside, NY 11104
Joshua Bilmes
JABagent@aol.com
Steve Mancino
jabagent2@aol.com
www.awfulagent.com

***

Janklow & Nesbit
445 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Luke Janklow
ljanklow@janklow.com
Morton Janklow
mjanklow@janklow.com
Richard Morris
rmorris@janklow.com
Eric Simonoff – moved to William Morris Agency
eric@janklow.com
Lynn Nesbit
lynn@janklow.com
Tina Bennet
tbennett@janklow.com
Anne Sibbald
asibbald@janklow.com

***

Jellinek & Murray Literary Agency
47-722-4 Hui Kelu Street
Kaneohe, HI 96744
Roger Jellinek
rgr.jellinek@gmail.com
jellinek@lava.net

***

Carolyn Jenks Agency
24 Concord Avenue Suite 412
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 354-5099
Carolyn Jenks
carolynjenks@comcast.net
www.carolynjenksagency.com
Asked for manuscript but did not acknowledge / reject

***

JET Literary Associates, Inc
2570 Camino San Patricio
Santa Fe, NM 87505
www.jetliterary.com
Elizabeth Trupin-Pulli
etp@jetliterary.com

***

Caren Johnson Literary
132 East 43rd Street, #216
New York, NY 10017
www.carenjohnson.com
www.johnsonliterary.com
Caren Johnson
caren@johnsonliterary.com
cjohnson@johnsonlitagency.com
Johnsonlitagency@gmail.com
Elana Roth, no adult fiction as of 04/2010
elana@johnsonliterary.com
Katie Shea, Commercial
Katie@johnsonliterary.com

***

Lawrence Jordan Literary Agency
345 West 121st Street
New York, NY 10027
(212) 662-7871 Fax: (212) 662-8138
ljlagency@aol.com
Contact: Lawrence Jordan
No reply and SASE not returned

***

JCA Literary Agency
174 Sullivan Street
New York, NY 10012
jeff@jcalit.com
Melanie Meyers Cushman
mel@jcalit.com
Tom Cushman
tom@jcalit.com
Tony Outhwaite
tony@jcalit.com

***

JLA Literary Agency,
5704 Gist Ave.,
Baltimore MD 21215-3508.
410-578-0468.
jlaagency@aol.com
Jeffrey O'Bomeghie
No reply and SASE not returned

***

Johnson Warren Literary Agency
115W California BLVD, #173
Pasadena, CA 91105
(818 )603-9117
JWLA@aol.com
Billie Johnson

***

Joy Literary Agency,
P.O. Box 957-856,
Hoffman Estates IL 60195-7856.
847-310-0003.
Carol Joy
No reply and SASE not returned

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change