the black vault

Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

St. Martin's Press,
Minotaur, Thomas Dunne Books,
Charles Spicer
charles.spicer@stmartins.com
Hilary Rubin Teeman thrillers, commercial
Hilary.Teeman@stmartins.com
Michael Homler thrillers
Michael.Homler@stmartins.com
Kelley Ragland
Kelley.ragland@stmartins.com
Marcia Markland, suspense
Marcia.Makland@stmartins.com
Carin Siegfried, Editor,
carin.siegfried@stmartins.com
Peter Wolverton Executive Editor
peter.wolverton@stmartins.com
Peter Joseph
peter.joseph@stmartins.com
Marc Resnick, Executive Editor
Marc.resnick@stmartins.com
Matthew Shear
matthew.shear@stmartins.com
Sally Richardson
Sally.richardson@stmartins.com
Toni Plummer
Toni.plummer@stmartins.com
Brendan Deneen, Thomas Dunne
Brendan.deneen@stmartins.com
Brenda Copeland
Brenda.Copeland@stmartins.com
Matt Martz, Minotaur
Matt.martz@stmartins.com

***

Salvo Press,
P.O. Box 9095,
Bend OR 97708.
541-330-8746
www.salvopress.com
Scott Schmidt, publisher
sschmidt@bendnet.com
susp/espionage/thrill EBOOKs

***

Samhain Publishing
577 Mulberry Street, Suite 1520
Macon, GA 31201
www.samhainpublishing.com

Samhain Horror

Samhain is now accepting submissions for our line of horror novels. We are actively seeking talented writers who can tell an exciting, dramatic and frightening story, and who are eager to promote their work and build their community of readers.

We are looking for novels—either supernatural or non-supernatural, contemporary or historical—that are original and compelling. Authors can be previously unpublished or established, agented or un-agented. Content can range from subtle and unsettling to gory and shocking. The writing is what counts.

Our criteria:

* Between 12,000 and 100,000 words, for print eligibility minimum 50,000.
* A fresh premise that can be conveyed in a marketing hook of 2 – 3 sentences
* Believable, three-dimensional characters
* A gripping, suspenseful style
* Credible world-building that can make even the strangest creatures believable
* Within the horror genre, not fantasy or science-fiction, though borders often blur

To submit:

* Email the complete manuscript and a full synopsis that takes the plot from beginning to end as two separate Word attachments.
* In the body of your email include a brief description of the novel, estimated word count, and your publishing history (if any) such as previous books, awards, and quotes from other authors or reviews.
* Include contact info, and if the manuscript is agented, please provide agent info as well.
* Include the title of the novel in the email’s subject line.

Submissions should be sent to: editor@samhainpublishing.com Editor: Don D'Auria.

Samhain Romance

Samhain is now open to general submissions of all genres of romance and erotica, as well as fantasy, urban fantasy and science fiction with strong romantic elements. Authors can be previously unpublished or established, agented or un-agented. We will consider previously published manuscripts on a case by case basis.

We are looking for romances of all types and styles, and all levels of heat. Let your imagination run free.

For science fiction, fantasy, and urban fantasy submissions, we would like strong romantic themes throughout, and while a traditional happy ending is not required, we would like some progression in the romantic arc as well as a satisfying ending for fans of romance.

Our Criteria:

* Between 12,000 and 120,000 words. For print eligibility, minimum 50,000 words.
* Simultaneous submissions accepted, but keep us posted on the current status.
* No pedophilia, bestiality, necrophilia, rape as titillation, etc.

Please visit the Samhain FAQ page for answers to most of your submissions questions.

Please visit the Special Calls page to see any special calls from our editors.

How to Submit

All submissions must be sent by email. We will not respond to any submissions sent via hard copy, nor will we return submissions sent this way. Please send all queries via email to the email address listed below.

Please send a short query letter in the body of an email. This letter should include some information about you, a short blurb, and the genre and word count of your manuscript.

In separate documents attached to the same email, attach the full manuscript and a synopsis. To give your book the best chance of being accepted, please ensure that the synopsis details the whole plot and the end of the book, even if it is a surprise ending.

Please send the synopsis and manuscript as two separate attachments, named with the title of your book.
Please format your work (manuscript and synopsis) as follows:

*When sending your manuscript/synopsis please name them: Title_Author initials_full and Title_Author initials_Synopsis. This helps our editors keep submissions organized.

* The files should be RTF (Rich Text File) or .doc (Word Document)
* Author name and book title should appear on the first page of your manuscript and synopsis

The cover page of your synopsis must have your contact information:

* Real Name/Pen Name
* Address
* Contact Phone
* Email address
* Working Title (include series name if applicable)
* Word Count
* Genre/s
* Blurb (less than 200 words)

When you are ready to submit, please send a short query letter and your submission to: editor@samhainpublishing.com.

Please allow up to 12-16 weeks for a personal reply.

***

Simon & Schuster,
1230 Avenue of the Americas,
New York, NY 10020.
212-698-7000
Includes Pocket Books, Scribner, Atria, Gallery,
Lauren McKenna, Gallery, commercial
lauren.mckenna@simonandschuster.com
Louise Burke, Gallery, VP
Louise.burke@simonandschuster.com
Anna deVries, Scribner, Crime, Suspense,
Anna.deVries@simonandschuster.com
Marcela Landres, Acquisitions
marcela.landres@simonandschuster.com
Tricia Boczkowski, Gallery
Tricia.boczkowski@simonandschuster.com
Mitchell Ivers, Gallery, commercial fiction
Mitchell.ivers@simonandschuster.com
Micki Nuding (Ms), Gallery, commercial
Micki.nuding@simonandschuster.com
Kathy Sagan, Gallery, commercial
Kathy.sagan@simonandschuster.com
Abby Ziddle, Gallery, commercial
Abby.ziddle@simonandschuster.com
Partick Price, Gallery, thrillers, commercial women's
Patrick.Price@simonandschuster.com
Ed Schlesinger, Gallery, commercial, speculative
Ed.schlesinger@simonandschuster.com
Megan McKeever, commercial, women's
Megan.mckeever@simonandschuster.com
Jaime Costas (Ms), Gallery, commercial, speculative
Jaime.costas@simonandschuster.com
Maggie Crawford
Maggie.Crawford@simonandschuster.com
Nan Graham
nan.graham@simonandschuster.com
Rachel Sussman
rachel.sussman@simonandschuster.com
Brent Rumble
brant.rumble@simonandschuster.com
does suspense and thrillers
Judith Curr
Judith.curr@simonandschuster.com
Peter Borland
Peter.borland@simonandschuster.com
Malaika Adero
malaika.adero@simonandschuster.com
Sarah Durand
Sarah.durand@simonandschuster.com
David Rosenthal
David.rosenthal@simonandschuster.com
Sarah Branham
Sarah.branham@simonandschuster.com
Kara Cesare, Gallery Books, commercial women's
Kara.cesare@simonandschuster.com
Sarah Knight
Sarah.knight@simonandschuster.com
Becky Nesbit
Becky.nesbit@simonandschuster.com

***

Simon & Schuster, UK
Mike Jones, Thrillers
mike.jones@simonandschuster.co.uk
Kate Lyall-Grant, Thrillers
kate.lyall-grant@simonandschuster.co.uk

***

Sirene
Jacqueline Smit Sirene
Uitgeverij Maarten Muntinga Postbus 2465,
Amsterdam, 1000 CL Netherlands
Phone 0031 20 5216767
www.sirene.nl
jsmit@sirene.nl

Sirene is a young imprint of the well-known and established independent publishing house Maarten Muntinga. We concentrate on upmarket commercial fiction and female narrative non-fiction, with a focus on crosscultural writing. Our mass market paperback series Sirene Pockets has an excellent reputation among the booksellers.

***

SOHO Press, INC.,
853 Broadway,
New York, NY 10003.
212-260-1900
www.sohopress.com
Juris Jurjevics, publisher
Juliet Grames
jgrames@sohopress.com
Bryan Devendorf
bdevendorf@sohopress.com
Likes stories set overseas
Juliet Grames
jgrames@sohopress.com
Katie Herman
kherman@sohopress.com
Soho Press primarily publishes fiction, with the occasional autobiography or cultural historical account. Completed manuscripts should be 60,000 words or more. While many of our published works arrive here through agents, we place a high priority on publishing quality unsolicited materials from new writers.
Though eager to accept a wide range of literary fiction, we do not consider formula fiction, young adult dramas, stock romances, juvenile literature, short story collections, cookbooks, how-to books, self-help, fantasy, and anything that might recommend itself as a "quick read." Further, we do not consider electronic submissions.

***

Scrivenery Press,
P.O. Box 740969-180,
Houston TX 77274-0969.
713-665-6760.
books@scrivenery.com
www.scrivenery.com
Chris Coleman, associate editor
Pays 8.5-15% retail
Proposal package with synopsis + 3 sample ch

***

Simon & Schuster Canada
625 Cochrane Drive, Suite 600
Markham, ON L3R 9R9
Ph: (905) 943-9942
Fax: (905) 943-9026

***

Snowapple Press,
Box 66024, Heritage Postal Outlet,
Edmonton, Alberta TJ6 6T4
Vanna Tessier, editor
Pays 10-50% retail
Q with Sase

***

Southern Press
Historical, Romance & Mystery/Suspense Genres
Query with SASE to
Southern Press,
4 Timberline Trail #D,
Ormond Bch, FL 32174
Writersolutns@aol.com
CAUTION - may be charging $

***

Steeple Hill Romantic Suspense
www.eharlequin.com

This new brand in the Steeple Hill imprint is a series of edge-of-your-seat, contemporary romantic suspense tales of intrigue and romance featuring Christian characters facing challenges to their faith…and to their lives.

Each story should have a compelling mystery or a suspenseful situation threatening the hero and the heroine combined with an emotional, satisfying and mature romance; however, the characters should not make love unless they are married. Even if characters are married, lovemaking must occur offstage. (No love scenes, please.) Any physical interactions (i.e., kissing, hugging) should emphasize emotional tenderness rather than sexual desire. There should not be an excessive reliance on kissing scenes or use of words such as "desire," "need," etc. or a focus on specific body parts. Please avoid any mention of nudity.

Drama, mystery, suspense and even a touch of humor all have a place in the series. Foul language and swearing do not. Paranormal or horror elements are not acceptable. Conflicts cannot be solved purely by divine intervention (e.g. an angel arriving to save the day). Violence is appropriate only insofar as it relates to the plot. Any subplots should come directly from the main story. Secondary characters can also help contribute to an exciting story. First person point of view (hero or heroine) may be used. Secondary characters' point of view can also be used, but only if sustained and appropriate to the story line. Stories can have international settings, though the main characters should be North American.

 

***

the black vault

black vault

free kobo

kill the president

 

agents of change

agents of change

free kobo

kill the president

wikijustice wikileaks

wikijustice

kobo

free ebooks

itunes spywriter

nook jack king

the fifth internationale

fifth international

free kobo

free ebooks

itunes spywriter

nook jack king

the black vault

black vault

free kobo

kill the president

 

agents of change

agents of change

free kobo

kill the president

wikijustice wikileaks

wikijustice

kobo

free ebooks

itunes spywriter

nook jack king

the fifth internationale

fifth international

free kobo

free ebooks

itunes spywriter

nook jack king