Jack King A New King of Thrillers


Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Welcome to my personal list of literary agents and publishers / editors acquiring commercial fiction. The list helped me find a literary agent who robbed me, and an editor who published me. All information came from open sources: Google, blogs, testimonials, industry publications, etc.

The list is not maintained, and I am keeping it for historical records only. These lists are no longer necessary. It is now exceedingly easy to find any number of publishing contacts in no time. They are at your fingertips. Use the data provided here as a starting point. Most of the people listed on these pages are in business. Some started their own companies, others merged, moved, or changed genres of interest, etc. Follow them, and they will lead you to a wealth of new contacts. Figuring out the contact information is the easiest part. Simply use company formula to decipher email addresses.

A few words of advice, if I may. Ask yourself: Why do you write? Do you simply want to see your name on a book cover, in a bookshop? In this case your best bet is to follow the flavor of the month. Search out the current MSWL, and toss off a novel in a few weeks. They'll snatch it and ask for more. I know it can be done. I wrote a novel in 35 days, and I have writing friends who release new novels monthly.

If you aspire to write something longer lasting: Do not be trigger-happy. Finish, and edit your manuscript. Pass it around to your beta readers, local book club / groups, etc. Edit again. Put it away for 6 months. Read it. If it still holds - query.

Target properly (no point querying a children's picture book agent / editor, with a gory horror story).

What to expect? Most agents / editors will not reply at all. It's a strange world, I know. I worked with some of the most despicable people in the world, truly malignant government slugs (are there any other kind?). Yet, if you wrote to them, they'd write back, if only a form letter. Meanwhile most agents don't have the decency to say a simple: "No, thanks." Editors are a somwhat different story. Most publishing houses forbid editors from considering submissions from writers. Yet, some will. It depends how high you aim. An editorial assistant might be too low on the company ladder, even if she acquires, whereas an executive might bend the rules. That's how I became a published author.

Query by email. Skip Query Forms, if you want to keep your sanity, as these are a nightmare to keep track of. Use a good email client, one that allows you to search by a variety of ways: To, From, Body, etc. You'll appreciate it after sending out hundreds of queries. Be careful before submitting your manuscript to personal, rather than company emails. Consider this: submitting a manuscript to a Gmail address means giving away the entire book to Alphabet. Be persistent, and do not give up.

 

HOW TO PUBLISH A BOOK

Genesis Press,
PO Box 101, MS Columbus 39701.
www.genesis-press.com
specializes in African-American thrillers/mysteries.

***

Grove Atlantic, UK
Corvus Imprint
Nicolas Cheetham
Nicolascheetham@groveatlantic.co.uk

***

Hachette Book Group
Includes Grand Central, Little Brown,
1271 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020
(212) 522-7200
Sara Ann Freed, executive editor myst/susp
Rick Horgan, vice president thrillers
Rick.horgan@hbgusa.com
Amy Pierpont, Thrillers
amy.pierpont@hbgusa.com
Beth DeGuzman
beth.deguzman@hbgusa.com
Rick Horgan
rick.horgan@hbgusa.com
Rick Wolff
rick.wolff@hbgusa.com
Celia Johnson
Celia.johnson@hbgusa.com
Devi Pillai
devi.pillai@hbgusa.com
John Schoenfelder, Little Brown, Suspense
John.schoenfelder@hbgusa.com
Jonathan Karp, Twelve
Jonathan.karp@hbgusa.com
Helen Atsma
Helen.Atsma@hbgusa.com

***

Harper Collins
1350 Avenue of the Americas,
New York NY 10019.
Includes various imprints: Touchstone, William Morrow, Avon (www.avonbooks.com)…
Sulay Hernandez
Sulay.hernandez@harpercollins.com
Jennifer Brehl, likes fast thrillers
jennifer.brehl@harpercollins.com
Lyssa Keusch
lyssa.keusch@harpercillons.com
David Highfill
david.highfill@harpercollins.com
Henry Ferris
henry.ferris@harpercollins.com
Kathy Schneider
Kathy.Schneider@harpercollins.com
Laurie Chittenden
laurie.chittenden@harpercollins.com
Katherine Nintzel, Delacorte
katherine.nintzel@harpercollins.com

***

Harper Collins, Canada
2 Bloor Street East, 20th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A8
416.975.9334
Lorissa Sengara
lorissa.sengara@harpercollins.com

***

Harper Collins, UK
Jane Johnson
jane.johnson@harpercollins.co.uk
Patrick Janson Smith
patrick.janson-smith@harpercollins.co.uk
Lynne Drew, publisher, fiction
lynne.drew@harpercollins.co.uk
Julia Wisdom, crime, thrillers
Julia.wisdom@harpercollins.co.uk
Sarah Ritherdon, commercial women's fiction
Sarah.ritherdon@harpercollins.co.uk

***

Hawk Publishing Group,
6420 S. Richmond Ave.,
Tulsa OK 74136.
www.hawkpub.com
William Bernhardt, publisher
Lauren Williams Subm. editor
Q with ms or synospsis, bio and 3 sample chapters. Query Email ok

***

Henry Holt and Co, Inc,
175 Fifth Avenue,
New York, NY 10010,
(646) 307-5095
Also: 115 W 18th Street,
New York, NY 10011,
www.henryholt.com www.hholt.com
Jennifer Barth, Editor-in-Chief,
jennifer.barth@hholt.com

***
Highland Press
Submissions Department
PO Box 2292
High Springs, FL 32655
Highland Press is looking for outstanding manuscripts of all time genres—with the exception of erotica. We want historicals similar to what many of us grew up with and fell in love with. This does NOT mean we want manuscripts with history dumps! Please ensure the history is sprinkled throughout your manuscript and your historical facts are accurate.
While we have predominantly focused on historicals to date, this does not mean we are not willing to consider well written stories of every time period. We’ve released several Young Adult books, including our first Young Adult inspirational, and are currently working on two children’s picture books. We also have a non-fiction reference book we believe every author will want to have.
Please direct all email queries in the body of an email (no unsolicited attachments) to: Submissions.hp@gmail.com
General questions about Highland Press Publishing should be addressed to: The.Highland.Press@gmail.com
If you wish to send a partial query via regular mail, please send the necessary cover letter, brief synopsis, marketing plan, and the first three chapters.

***

Hodder Headline,
338 Euston Road,
London NW1 3BH,
www.hodderheadline.co.uk
www.hodder.co.uk
Vicki Mellor, thrillers
vicki.mellor@headline.co.uk

***

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing,
215 Park Ave. S.,
New York NY 10003.
212-420-5800
www.hmhpub.com
Submissions Editor
Q with 3 sample ch or complete ms with SASE
Andrea Schulz
andrea.schulz@hmhpub.com
Meagan Stacey, Mariner Books
Meagan.Stacey@hmhpub.com
Johnathan Wilber
johnathan.wilber@hmhpub.com

***

Hyperion A Unit of ABC, Inc.
A Division of The Walt Disney Company
15th Floor, 114 5th Avenue
New York NY 10011
www.hyperionbooks.com
Gretchen Young
Gretchen.Young@abc.com
Jill Schwartzman, commercial fiction
Christine Pride
christine.pride@abc.com

 

***

 

the black vaultthe fifth internationalewikijustice wikileaks agents of change